Sharing ice cream

a children's book that I can relate to.

Should I share my ice cream? Weren’t we all taught as wee ones that we should, need, & have to share?  It was hard then and it’s still hard to do, even as adults!  There are two things that challenge me to the core when it comes to sharing.  The first is water and the second, ice cream.
 Yesterday I made sweet basil and honey pine nut ice cream.  i’m not a fan of pine nuts, but the hubby is.  Really the idea was this would be a nice treat for him.  However when I tasted it, that idea went out the door and before I knew what had happened, I was thinking do I want to share this ice cream?

what to do, what to do?????

the answer was no.  I even started thinking that I needed to clean everything up and not leave even a hint behind that ice cream had been made.  I even started plotting where I could place it in the freezer w/o anyone discovering it.  crazy right?
Well, after I packed it in its container, I came to my senses and decided to not hide the ice cream and share.

yay for making a great, but tough decision

when I came home from work I announced that I had made ice cream.  although he already knew because I did leave a little evidence behind.  Now everyone in the house can enjoy this creamy delight and I feel good about not giving in to my selfish desires.
Question: what are some things you don’t like to share?
xoxo, jenn
images are from the book Should I Share My Ice Cream by Mo Willems
About jennahn

Hello, I am a friend, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and a creator of lovely things. I believe in taking leaps of faith and living life to the full.
This entry was posted in books, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

