Happy Valentine’s day to you!

One of the most exciting things for me when we owned a children’s bookshoppe, was getting a chance to see new books before they’re publish date and receiving inventory.  I also really adore most wordless books.  I love that each time you open the book a new story can develop. They are great for children!  So when the book the Secret of Love by Sarah Emmanuelle Burg came into the store, I knew I needed a copy for myself.  The illustrations are simple, playful, and opens the reader’s imagination up to a story being told.  After looking through the book a few times, I could clearly see that this book could easily be a short version of our (Kyung and I) story.  So going against what I’ve preached to kids in the past, I wrote in the book!  I know, I know, that is such a HUGE no no, but really it couldn’t be helped.  Here’s a little glimpse into a love story from me to my husband on our first Valentine’s day as a married couple:

The Secret of Love

kyung and jennifer were the best of friends for many years

& although they loved ea. other, they didn't know how to share that love

eventually that love broke

kyung & jennifer decided to plant their seeds of love

they watched it grow until their love fully blossomed. On Nov. 5, 2006 kyung & jennifer married their best friends… each other

I couldn’t share the whole book for obvious reasons, but there’s a lot more in the middle of our story.  Don’t you love the illustrations?  Maybe you too can write your love story.  When I gave this book, our book, to my husband that day, he truly loved it.   Happy Valentine’s Day!

xoxo, jenn

About jennahn

Hello, I am a friend, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and a creator of lovely things. I believe in taking leaps of faith and living life to the full.
This entry was posted in books, Lovely things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Valentine’s day to you!

  1. Joy says:

    Wow Jenn! Thanks for sharing your story. It really was sweet. As well, I am inspired to buy “wordless” books.

Leave a Reply

