I sold myself a dream

The morning light enters through our bedroom windows beckoning me awake.  In stubbornness I continue to lay, refusing to rise.  Finally defeated, I arise. Surprised to see that it’s only 6:45am.  Thoughts of fresh hot coffee & reading my new magazine enter my mind.  Excited.  I pour the last of the coffee beans into the grinder, it’s just enough for two cups.  I plug-in the grinder and my beautiful coffee beans go flying everywhere. Surprisingly, I just laugh and gather the beans on the counter.  Not really enough for two cups now due to the fact that I lost some beans to the floor.  I decide to add some espresso so at least there are two cups of coffee.  Coffee is brewing.  Still excited.  The next thing I hear is running water. What? This can’t be; the man (husband) is now also awake.  Drat!  My excitement of a peaceful coffee drinking & reading went out the window.  I try to be…well, I don’t know what I was trying to be, but I didn’t want him to know that I was disappointed that he was already awake (because I love him so).  Maybe I can still have my morning.

I get the coffee and my magazine & head to the sun porch.  Ahhhh, lovely.  I received the magazine on Monday & didn’t want to open it until I could really sit down & enjoy it.  That day I thought would be today.  enthusiastically I open the magazine & start reading the editor letter…this is like page one.  Before I can even finish I hear the man calling my name from the back of the house, asking me to help him take out the trash.  Unbelievable.  I’m not happy & chose to act like I don’t hear him.  Now I feel guilty so I go to help him & he’s got it all.  Unfortunately I can’t go back to my peaceful moment; the dream is shattered.  My husband is now @ the computer watching & listening to movie trailers.  So I decide in order to keep my sanity (& a happy marriage) I will just flip through my magazine, let my husband look at it, and read it tomorrow morning after he leaves for work.

xoxo, jenn

About jennahn

Hello, I am a friend, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and a creator of lovely things. I believe in taking leaps of faith and living life to the full.
This entry was posted in Lovely things, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

