Printing in the studio

After weeks of being away I finally got into the “pseudo studio” to do a little printing. Yay!  I always miss being out there printing, but I don’t realize how much I miss it until I’m actually printing again.
I love getting my machine ready.  I think in part because of the anticipation of the end result.  Letterpress is just such a beautiful and tactile type of printing.  There’s something very satisfying about mixing and working one’s ink. Mixing and working until the color & consistency is just right. It’s all those little tedious details that I love.  Ahhhh.
Anyway I have a friend that just got a new job which is relocating her to the Bay area, yay! I’m so excited for her and it’s all happening so quick.  So a few of us had already planned a dinner get together @ XIV to take advantage of Dine LA, but little did we know that it would be a good-bye (see ya later) dinner.  Since we all became friends through our letterpress class, I decided (last minute) to make her a few personalized notecards.  Because of my lack of time and type, I made her cards with the same type I used for my own notecards.  I did however add a little flower dingbat.

I was so distracted by my husband and running short on time that I forgot to take pictures of Catie’s cards.  This is a picture of the first proof.  On the envelope is a “please deliver to” stamp from Paper Pastries.  Cute right!  Well, it’s not what Catie got because I was so short on time.  Sorry Catie 😦  However, Catie was totally encouraged anyway.  Yay!

 

the girls last get together for a while. bye catie (the blonde)

 

side note:  the food at XIV was excellent!  here’s a few pics:

xoxo, jenn

About jennahn

Hello, I am a friend, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and a creator of lovely things. I believe in taking leaps of faith and living life to the full.
This entry was posted in Food, Letterpress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

