Happy October

Happy October.  Is it really October?  This week went by so quickly!  Well, really the whole month went by in a blink.  Last weekend was a busy, but fun one.  I love that there is always something to do here in SoCal.  Here’s what I did.

Saturday was the LA Printers Fair.  This was my first time going and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  The day started out just hot, so first I stopped in on a tent where you could sit & make origami boxes. Cool.  There were many vendors with all kinds of great product.  Just being there made me excited and I wanted to go home and print (but I didn’t.)  Since it was so hot outside, I had to go indoors.  Inside there were more vendors and volunteers demostrating these wonderful old presses.  I even had my name made on the lino machine.  There were so many things to see and do, but I couldn’t stay any longer ( I already stayed an hour longer than I planned).

hot metal! having my name made on a linotype machine

Saturday night was a birthday dinner for a friend at this place.

aren't they a cute family?

butter cake...enough said!

Can I just say that this is the first time that I’ve spent a lot of money on dinner & felt good about it!  Every bite was delicious & the left overs were also great.  My husband couldn’t come because he had to work.  Boy did he miss out.  I think I’ll take him there on a special occasion.

Sunday we went to church and then to the Abbott Kinney street festival.  Parking was a nightmare!  We met up with the other jen.  Of course the food trucks were out in full force, yay!

snickerdoodle cookie w/ balsamic fig & mascarpone ice cream from Cool Haus truck

The lines were long & I think we waited in the longest- nom nom. I had heard of this truck, but this was my first experience.  Not dissappointed! Loved it!  The family in front of us told me that they were on Food Network’s Great Food Truck Race.  I had never seen the show.  As luck would have it, later that evening I was flipping through the channels & stopped @ the food network.  Guess what was on???  Right, the finale of Great Food Truck Race.  So of course I watched it.  I was bummed that nom nom didn’t win at the end.  No worries though because Nom Nom is still a winner here in LA!  Have a great weekend!

xoxo, jenn

About jennahn

Hello, I am a friend, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and a creator of lovely things. I believe in taking leaps of faith and living life to the full.
This entry was posted in Event, Food, Friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

